You are here

Annenieki Evangelical Lutheran Church

In 1711, Annenieki Evangelical Lutheran Church was built in the place where local people had been buried after the plague pandemic. At the beginning the church was built of wood. The current stone church with a seating capacity of 300 people was built in the middle of the 18th century. It served as a subsidiary church of Jaunpils.

During the 20thcentury renovation works were carried out under the guidance of P. Kundziņš. On 28 September 1990, church steeple with gilded rooster, cross and ball was renovated and consecrated. The rooster, cross and ball are the only such objects found in the district.

In 2000, the church was renovated by graduates of Woodworking Department, Riga Secondary School of Arts and Crafts. Consecration service, in which Archbishop Jānis Vanags participated as well, took place on Whitsunday, 10 June.

How to get there: 

Coordinates:
56.680188, 23.100716
An alternative description

Dobele district, Annenieki parish, Annenieki, LV-3718
+371 25969494, +371 25965992
Languages Spoken: 
Admission Fee: 
Discount: 

Tourism Object Services: 
Guide service available
Tourism Object Features: 
Access for disabled people
Free parking
WC
Last updated: 
30.09.2014