You are here
The Church of the Holy Spirit in Bauska
The Church of the Holy Spirit in Bauska was built during the period 1591 – 1594 and it contains some unique art objects dating from the 16th to the 19th centuries. The oldest preserved building existent in the Old Town of Bauska is the Church of the Holy Spirit, which was built for the German congregation of the time.
It was built during the years 1591 – 1594, initially without a tower, but with a beautifully ornamented frieze on the surrounding façade. The tower was added on the western side only in the year 1614, and in 1623 it was completed with a cupola and steeple. In the year 1813 it was necessary to dismantle the steeple which had been struck and damaged by lightning. During all of its long life, the Church of the Holy Spirit in Bauska has carefully preserved its records of the history of the town and has built up quite a collection of art treasures – gifts and mementos.
The church altar was crafted in 1699 but its present shape was determined in 1861 after some reconstruction, which was undertaken by Jelgava artisan J. Dērings. The pulpit and the organ prospect were gifts from the Russian senator N. von Korf in the years 1762 and 1766 respectively.
The pews for the congregation were crafted in the middle of the 17th century and in the early 1800s. On the end of one of the pews there is a wood crafted ornamentation representing the oldest coat of arms of the town of Bauska, from 1640, with a gold lion on a red shield. By the altar there are three ornate private pews in a baroque and rococo style. Along the walls of this house of God there is a row of nine memorial plaques dating from between the end of the 16th century and early 17th century. Between these one can observe some unique monuments. The epitaph on the southern wall of the church is in memory of the Court Fogt - J. Henning from 1677. It was painted by the artist D. von Zeitz, who was himself the holder of many high titles – a former alderman, Fogt of the Court and even the Burgermaster. On the opposite wall an epitaph has only recently been returned for another former Burgermaster of Bauska – K.J. Reimers (1757).