You are here

Džūkste Fairy Tale Museum

The Džūkste Fairy Tale Museum was founded in December 2001, and is hosted in the former building of Lancenieki school, where a teacher, writer, collector of tales and legends, Anss Lerhis-Puškaitis (1859-1903), also called Father of Fairy Tales, lived and worked from January 1883 to March 1903.

The museum is dedicated to A. Lerhis-Puškaitis and Džūkste fairy tales, as well as to preserving the tangible and intangible cultural heritage. Visitors are welcome to listen to Džūkste fairy tales and to share those they have heard, to watch, and to take part in a puppet show, to view exhibitions and to create fairy tale characters.   

A. Lerhis-Puškaitis used tales and legends in his work to inspire the children's imagination and thinking, and to build a system of ethnic Latvian values.

Approximately 6000 tales, collected by A. Lerhis-Puškaitis have been published in a seven volume edition “Latvian Folk Legends and Tales” (1891-1903).

56.811386, 23.350308
An alternative description

Tukums district, Džūkste parish, Lancenieku skola, LV-3147
+371 63154691
+371 29295079
Languages Spoken: 
Admission Fee: 

Guided tours: 5.00 Ls in Latvian for groups of up to 30 people; 10.00 Ls in foreign languages for groups of up to 30 people

Tourism Object Services: 
Guide service available
Last updated: