The building was constructed in 1933, strictly abiding by the national construction traditions; it is one of the most striking buildings of national Romanticism in Latvia (architect F.Skujiņš). After World War II the building housed a sanatorium for children “The Forest House”; children from all over the Soviet Union came here for treatment.
The restaurant “Merry Mosquitoes”, with a vast open-air terrace and a fire-place hall with luxurious wood-carvings, offered delicious food. The place was popular not only among the resort guests, but also among many celebrities of the time.
The mosquitoes were not the only ones who enjoyed themselves – prosperous and well-known gentlemen came to visit this remote restaurant, and they were welcomed by cheerful ladies.