You are here
Historical centre of Subate
Subate is a small town that has developed during the 16th-19th centuries.
The historical centre of Subate ranks among the town building monuments of national significance. The most remarkable sites are: the building development on the northern side of the market square, the even number side of Brīvības iela, the alley in the SE direction as far as the lake, the buildings on the odd number side of Baznīcas iela, and the even number side of Ilūkstes iela.
The pharmacy in the town centre is one of the oldest in the Daugavpils District and has been occupying the present facilities since 1925.
This pharmacy is called the New pharmacy, to distinguish it from the Old Chemist's Shop, opened in 1814 by pharmacist Georg Weke and operating till 1936.
On the eastern bank of Lake Subate, there spreads a birch grove; one of the people who planted it was former President Kārlis Ulmanis. A stone has been installed in the grove to commemorate the occasion.
A legend recounts a heroic battle waged by the residents of the Subate castle and its chieftain against Lithuanians. The chieftain's spirit turned into an eagle; the bird landed on top of the castle tower and screamed three times. The castle then sank and all Lithuanian warriors died. Human bones can still be found on the hill, and the lake now bears the chieftain's name.