A+
Beta

Lizums Manor House

The manor house built in 1836 during Baron O. J. G. von Wolf’s time was remodelled in a Tudor Neo-Gothic style in the third quarter of the 19th century. An inseparable component of the time – a polygonal tower, was added to the house, together with an attica above the central rizalite. The interior finish in the stairwell, the halls and the Blue or Hunter’s Hall, which was done by Estonian Master Alexander Knock has survived.

Lizuma muiža
  • Lizuma muiža
  • Photo: Pilis.lv
  • Lizums Manor
  • Photo: From the Gulbene TIC Archive
  • Lizums Manor
  • Photo: From the Gulbene TIC Archive
Lizuma muiža
  • Lizuma muiža
  • Photo: Pilis.lv

Already before the Polish period, Lizums was a manor owned by the Thiesenhausens, and later it was appropriated by Medums. In 1629, Antonius Morrie, but in 1657 - one Meyer are mentioned as the owners of the manor. From 1781 the manor passed into the hands of Baron Malama, until finally in 1836 the von Wolf family became the owners. The manor’s most magnificent building is undoubtedly the grand house built in the middle of the 19th century in Historicism style (a Neo-Gothic style façade, and an octagonal tower). In 1936/37 the house came to accommodate a school which is still located there. Around the palace a small landscape park has been preserved with a number of ponds. In the near vicinity – a number of the manor buildings – stables, a barn, servants' quarters, a distillery and others.

 
57.192482, 26.371523
  • Languages spoken: 
    • Latvian
    • Russian
  • Admission fee: 
    Paid
  • Payment methods: 
    • Cash
Services: 
  • Exhibitions
  • Guide service available
Amenities and Features: 
  • Free parking
  • Information point
  • WC
  • WiFi Internet
Working Hours: 

Available for viewing by prior arrangement.

Extra information: 
Last updated: 09.09.2014