The location chosen for building the church is rather low and narrow: a house owned by one Levin was too close to the prospective church's altar, and therefore a part of the house had to be dismantled. The year 1845 saw the consecration of the Church of Our Lady's Dormition. The building was designed by A.Zakharov in the late Classicism style, typical for that period. The church also was given valuable icons.
Between 1900 and 1901, the church underwent a major reconstruction: the cupola was raised by as much as 8 maters, the belfry – by 4 meters. A three-tier iconostasis was installed. In 1906, a large 1667 kg bell, sponsored by donations from the members of the congregation, was lifted to the steeple.
On 11 June 1938, during the great fire of Ludza, the steeple of fhe cathedral caught fire and the bell crashed down. However, the damage was repaired before 15 August, a festival day for the church.