Latvia.travel mobile app. Your official guide for travelling in Latvia.

You are here

Malnava Manor and Park

The manor house was built in the 19th century. It was set fire to in 1905, and considerably damaged during both world wars.

The Count, not being a Latvian, was interested in exotic trees and shrubs. The park, together with its other part called Ziedonis, covers 18 hectares in total. In the manor park proper, there are 6.9 ha of land, but the pond takes up 0.1 ha.

This is one of the oldest parks in Latvia, and, if not for the war, it would have the richest collection of foreign plants. Apart from the local species – maple, ash, oak, linden, hazel, elm, wych elm, European white elm – there are rare trees – several species of fir and thuja, Tatar maple, Canadian aspen, walnut, and others.

The plantings also feature the rare sumac. The most common tree in the park is larch.

Documentary evidence of Malnava Manor dates back in 1774. It is known that before 1724 the estate belonged to the Hilzen family of German ancestry drawing its roots from knights who arrived to Latvia in the 13th century, and later became polonised.

In 18th century, the manor came into the ownership of Count Szadurski. In his time the house was restructured: a third storey was added to the main building, also the North and South sections, and the roof were reconstructed. In the manor house, one's attention is attracted by a quaint winding staircase. At the back of the house, there once was a round hall with glass walls and an exit to the park.

In 1878, the Malnava estate of ca. 10,400 hectares of land already belongs to Julius von der Ropp, then a new owner, S.F.Agarkov, takes over in 1906. In 1920, the Malnava estate with 12,502 hectares was one of the largest manorial properties to be incorporated into the national land fund.

Tourism Object Services: 
Guide service available
Tourism Object Features: 
Free parking
Access for disabled people

56.776467, 27.720551
An alternative description

Last updated: