You are here
Valka-Lugaži Ev. Lutheran Church
The church is situated in the very centre of the town of Valka, on the corner of Raiņa Street and Rīgas Street.
The name of the church first appears in historical records in 1477. The church was originally constructed in the basilica style, austere and ascetic. It displays, however, elements of a number of other styles - Gothic, Classicism, Baroque, and National Romantic - which are the result of several re-designs following war time damage.
The congregations was founded in 1477, and has never stopped functioning since then. In the orignal records it is called the Valka-Lugaži (Lutke in Estonian) congregation.
Currently, the religious community has 135 members. The first stone church was built on this site in 1641. The church had bad fortune in the past; it was ruined twice, and restored again due to the efforts of von Wrangel family. For the first time, the church was burnt down in 1702 by the Russian troops, and then again only fifteen years later.
The present-day Valka-Lugaži Lutheran Church is not only a venue for worship: the church steeple also serves as a viewing tower. From the height of about seven storeys, a spectacular view opens over both Valka in Latvia and Valga in Estonia.