The Roman Catholic Church of Archangel Michael and the cloister situated on the land of Viļāni Manor were built in 1753 – 1772, financed by the landlord Mihails Riks. The church contains a number of noteworthy art monuments, including the carved wooden cruciphixes.
In 1832 the monastery was closed by the Russian government, and it was only reopened in 1924. During World War II the church steeples were destroyed and the monastery buildings bombed. After the war the church and the monastery premises were restored.