You are here
The museum has on display various wedding accessories, from leaflets with song lyrics to bridal dresses. Any visitor to the museum has an opportunity to add to the collection a souvenir from his or her own wedding.
The "Rubenes" farm sits snugly encircled by forest not far from the Smiltene-Gulbene road. The farmhouse itself was built in 1869, the sauna – in 1914, but the fieldstone barn – in 1930. In 1991, "Rubenes" came into the ownership of Juris Pajats. Since then, a great deal of landscaping has been done to turn the property into a pleasant place for spending leisure. Not only have the old buildings been preserved: many old tools and utensils have been collected.
Juris with his wife Vivita once had an idea to set up a museum displaying all possible wedding accessories. The unique museum soon became popular, and these days "Rubenes" welcomes not only newlyweds on their wedding day, but also travellers from far and near. The farm hosts regular celebrations of spring equinox and summer solstice, as well as various family events and wedding anniversaries. Since 2004, regular gatherings of vedēji are held on the first weekend of August, and a wedding accessories fair is organised in May. (At a Latvian wedding, vedēji are a couple of the wedding witnesses, chosen for this honorable mission from among close friends or relatives; they also assist with planning, lead the couple through the ceremony, and take care of the entire proceedings and rituals. (Translator's note))