You are here
Zaļenieki (Green) Manor
The manor house, commissioned by the Duke of Courland Ernst Johann Biron, was built from 1768 to 1775 in the late baroque style by the design of architect S.Jensen.
The house currently accommodates the Zaļenieki Vocational School and is surrounded by a landscape park with ponds and a bridge.
The Green Manor, or Zaļenieki, was one of the oldest fiefs of the Livonian Order in Zemgale. In 1562 it became a domain of the Dukes of Courland. The construction of the manor house started in 1768 by orders of Duke Ernst Johann Biron.
Cornices in the halls on the first floor, ceiling decorations in the stairway, fragments of the inlaid flooring and some door leafs have survived from the original 18th century interior decoration.
Unique wall paintings have also survived under later paint layers of in the central hall.
The Zaļenieki Manor house is remarkable due to the fact that its facade has remained unchanged, and has kept its original plastering, profiles and decorative details.
The roof shingles have been replaced with sheet iron, but the room plan has changed little during the late 19th and early 20th century – a corridor has been built out on the ground floor and several smaller rooms have been partitioned off from the lobby.