A+
Beta

Cēsis district

We are children’s science center Z(in)oo. Our goal is to unleash the curiosity.

HOW?

Z(in)oo offers interactive displays,  so that visitors can try different technologies and examine the laws of nature themselves: to study math by jumping, to get the taste of gravitation in a swing, to understand the friction by driving in special kartings, to see the sound, optical illusions, to construct gear-boxes, to understand how catapult works, to construct and operate robots, to see lightning, to move objects with the power of your mind, to sit on nails, and more and more. All together over 50 interactive exhibits.

Only Z(in)oo offers interactive exhibition “The Genius of Leonardo da Vinci”, where it is possible to touch and try the most celebrated inventions of the medieval genius.

The little visitors of the museum have an opportunity to play with VARIS and LEGO construction toys. And the toddlers along with their parents can play with educational toys.

WHY?

We believe that everyone has a unique potential. We want to help to discover it by encouraging person’s natural curiosity about oneself, about the surrounding world and technologies. We are confident that an exciting process of discovery is the beginning of long-term personal growth.

HOW TO VISIT?

  • In working days with prior notification
  • On Saturdays 10.00-17.00 without prior notification
  • Expected time of the tour: 2-4 hours
  • Entrance fee: 3 LVL
57"18'54 25"17'22
57.314934, 25.289476
  • Address: 
    Poruka iela 8, Cēsis district, Cēsis, LV-4100
  • Email: 
  • Phone: 
    +371 25400228
  • Mobile: 
    +371 25400228
  • Website: 
  • Languages spoken: 
    • English
    • Latvian
    • Russian
  • Admission fee: 
    Paid
  • Payment methods: 
    • Cash
Services: 
  • Creative workshops
  • Exhibitions
  • Guide service available
  • Seminars and conferences
  • Souvenirs
  • Themed events
Amenities and Features: 
  • Access for disabled people
  • Free parking
  • WC
  • WiFi Internet
Working Hours: 

Saturtdays 10.00-17.00


On week days with prior notice. Phone +371 25400228

Last updated: 03.06.2014
Date: 
10.08 - 12.08.2012

Historical film programme in a real, historical environment, debates of professionals and historians over connection between cinema and history. Medieval Heroes event is devoted to feature and documentary movies from different countries shown in their original languages. Programme also includes cartoons for children.

Venue: 
Cēsis Medieval Castle
Target Group: 
  • All
Date: 
27.07 - 18.08.2012

Synthesis of different professional art forms. Three Festival weeks offer excellent professional art exhibitions, cinema and theatre, as well as different concerts taking place in both open air and indoor locations. During Festival a conference will be held as well.

Venue: 
Cēsis
Date: 
26.05 - 27.05.2012

During the Festival Cēsis, Cēsis Castle and Āraiši are brightened up by art, music, different skills, fashion and competitions. A special emphasis is put on knighthood and war, i. e., competitions, field battles and battle reenacments. Visitors will have a great opportunity to spend the night in Cēsis Medieval Castle garden.

Venue: 
Cēsis

The Cēsis Manor - House or Cēsis New Castle is a monument of great architectural importance and was built in the middle of the 18th century. After the recent restoration the castle has regained its initial appeal, but the Cēsis Museum of History and Art has a lot new to demonstrate its visitors.

After 1777 the New Castle gained its current appearance, when the manor was bought by Earl Karl Eberhard von Sievers. Significant reconstruction took place between the 1820's and 1830's when the massive medieval tower was elevated by two smaller floors smaller in terms of diameter and the main Baroque style volume was supplemented with balconies and columns in main facades.

Cēsis New Castle with Lademaher tower built in neo-Gothic style is seen as one of the earliest examples of eclecticism in the architecture of the manors in Latvia. The Earl Sievers family lived in New Castle until the World War I. In 1919, the building was transferred to the Latvian army, and until 1940 it served as the headquarters of the 8th Daugavpils infantry regiment of the Latvian army and officers' club. After World War II the building was turned into an apartment building, and Cēsis History and Art Museum was established in the New Castle in 1949.

The carefully performed restoration works in the Cēsis New Castle resulted in the building regaining its architectural appearance from the end of the 18th and the 19th centuries, when the castle served as a house for the owners of the Castle Manor.

The high quality rose motif, an artistically highly valued freehand drawing, was discovered in the Big Salon. Interior exhibitions are arranged in several rooms of the castle allowing imagining the appearance of the castle during the period when the Earls Sieviers lived there and when it was furnished with Biedermeier style furniture and 19th century’s art objects.

The authors of Cēsis Novads historic exhibition have carried out a difficult task trying to integrate the region’s historic stories in the castle’s interior using the objects, old pictures and interactive programmes from the museum stock to tell Cēsis history from ancient times until the formation of the independent state of Latvia. Conference room and an exhibition hall have been set up in the upper floors of the castle.

Cesis Castle Manor owner count Carl Gustav von Zievers established Castle Park and it is deservedly considered one of the most outstanding and most original landscape parks of 19th century in Latvia.

Castle Park is built around the 1832; the landscape includes the medieval castle ruins and the impressive ancient Riekstu castle- hill silhouette. Streams and springs, hilly terrain with sandstone outcrops are all adding to the Romanticism inherent bridges and pavilions.

Castle Park creators once gave a specific place names for castle park objects. Carl Hill near the pond in the honor of the castle park creator Count Carl Gustav von Zievers. In 1908th his son Emanuel Zievers placed bronze bust podium of Count Carl Gustaf von Zievers (currently under reconstruction). Castle Park also has Minadora Hill, Charlotte Island, and Emmanuel terrace. They are all Count Carl Gustaf von Zievers closest family member names.

To the present day Castle Park has preserved its original solution. In 1936th stairs were built as a passage to the pond (J. Rosenberg’s project). They are complemented by sculptor’s R. Aboltins travertine sculptures - figures of children at the stair edges, crawfish - a fountain with a stream cascade, images of fishermen near the water.In 1960-ies, open-air bandstand and audience area was built and on the lower part of the park - travertine staircase. Also, in 1960-ies existing stone stacking in shape of pyramid fountain was replaced by sculptor Andrew Janson’s sculpture "Man with a catfish."

Castle Park is a favorite resting place for Cesis citizens and guests; it is recognizable by its unique and romantic landscape, opera performances, art and diverse cultural events.

Cesis Castle-Manor stable and coach house got its present appearance of the late Classicism - Empire freeform after the reconstruction in the early years of 19th century. The building was used as a stable for lord’s horses and Castle tavern guest horses, as well as the coach house where carts and carriages were kept.

Its original function as a stable and coach house was lost in the beginning of 1920th, when it was taken over by Daugavpils 8th infantry troops of Latvian Army. For next decades stable and coach house was used as a warehouse and garage. In 1985, after reconstruction building was opened as an Exhibition Hall.

Cesis Exhibition Hall is an unusual space with its own architectural solutions. Exhibition rooms are located on two floors with expressive, wooden structure. It allows holding a variety of exhibitions, and great acoustics provide serious music concerts. With a diverse range of exhibitions, concerts and other entertainment activities Exhibition Hall integrates into Cesis, Latvia’s and global cultural processes.

St. John’sChurch is one of the oldest medieval architectural monuments in Latvia. Church was built in the beginning of 13th century during the Christianization of Baltic’s for the purposes of the Livonian Holy Order because residence of the order was located in Cēsis; therefore Cēsis became one of the most important German power centers in the Baltic’s from 1237 up to 1561.

Cēsis St. John’s Church is the largest medieval basilica outside Riga. Church is 65 m long and 32 m wide three sphere basilica, in the western part it is being introduced by the massive 65 m high bell-tower with 15 m high Gothic spire. There are 1000 seats provided in the church. A range of interesting historical and art monuments have remained intact in the church up to the modern days and majority of them have been included in the list of State protected cultural heritage monuments. Already from the first half of the 19th century church have attracted attention as a historical and architectural monument. Nowadays world renowned chorus and organ music virtuous perform there. Church has become a home for the International new organ player’s festival. Also painters value the church; different art exhibitions take place there. The Blue hill that is at a distance of 40 km from the church can be seen from the church tower. Doorstep of the church is located exactly 100 meters above the sea level.

 

Cesis Tourism Development and Information Centre offers:tourism information, souvenirs, maps, postcards, booking of accommodation, Internet and guide services (for the medieval castle of Cesis, Old Town, the town).

 

Theatrical programs are also available.Medieval games – an opportunity to experience medieval times with the help of various strength and agility games.Such games were played already from an early childhood thus providing the necessary skills to become a true knight.The servants of the castle will help you test your skills in fighting on a balance-beam, walking on stilts, throwing stones at an aim, pulling a stick and other tests.

More information on the programs:Ieva Kalnina, phone:+371 26339342, e-mail:ieva.cesis@inbox.lv


Tickets for the Cesis Castle complex (Cesis medieval castle, Cesis Museum of History and Art and Exhibition House) are sold up to 45 min before closure.