A+
Beta

English

During a visit to the museum you can learn about the history of the ancient Semigallians and Tērvete from the 9th to the 13th century, see a model of Tērvete Castle, weapons, household items, Semigallian gowns and pictures of Semigallian castle mounds.

The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
  • The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
  • The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
  • The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
  • The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
  • The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
  • The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
  • Photo: Tērvete history museum
The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
  • The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
  • Photo: Tērvete history museum
The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
  • The 12th century Tērvete wooden castle and history museum
  • Photo: Tērvete history museum

The museum houses Latvia’s largest and richest collection of reconstructed Iron Age Semigallian jewellery. Every year on the second Saturday in August, a Semigallian fair is held alongside the museum and Tērvete Castle Mound.

56"28'52 23"22'39
56.481125, 23.377447
  • Languages spoken: 
    • English
    • Latvian
    • Russian
  • Admission fee: 
    Paid
  • Payment methods: 
    • Cash
Services: 
  • Exhibitions
  • Themed events
Amenities and Features: 
  • Free parking
  • WC
Working Hours: 

Wednesday - Sunday 10:00 - 17:00

Last updated: 05.08.2014

Don't miss this opportunity! Baltic sea coast with sandy beach and comfortable apartments in the city center is always at your service!

Apartment hotel "Amber" welcomes you Combining comfort and convenient location makes the apartment an ideal place for rest and business for those who want to stay in Liepaja. Apartment hotel "Amber" - a  building with classical architecture.

Our hotel has 9 apartments of different categories, from studio to family class apartments, ranging from 35 to 65 square meters

Our apartments will satisfy of any tourist or businessman requirements.

Services: 
  • Car parking
  • Internet
  • Pets allowed
Ratings:
Star rating: 
3

Valter’s Prosthetic Laboratory Ltd is the only ocular prosthetics company in the Baltics with long-lasting experience in the field and highly qualified specialists, who have acquired their knowledge and skills in Germany, Russia, Great Britain and the United States. 

Thanks to the stable values and continuous improvement Valters’ Prosthetic Laboratory is with its patients since 1991, i.e., for two decades already!

Certified specialists of Valters’ Prosthetic Laboratory Ltd produce make different types of individual glass and synthetic ocular prosthesis, collection eye prosthesis and ecto prosthesis from the highest quality materials made in Germany, Canada and the United States. These prostheses ensure excellent cosmetic appearance and maximum functionality and they allow the person to fit in the society completely.

Tourism companies (Partners): 
Baltic Care
Phone: 
+371 29452007

Ragakāpa is an 800m long and 100m wide naturally born dune. Very old pine stands (approximately 340 years), as well as rare plant and bird species are found in the park. There are benches, informative signs and boards, sight platforms on the trail.

In 1910 for the donated money, the first Gardening school in Latvia was founded. The school was opened in Bulduri, on a territory of the historical centre of Bulduri manor. In 1911 the first school building was settled. By the beginning of World War I a remarkable household was created here – the garden had 200 species of fruit-trees, as well as carrots, tomatoes and corn were cultivated.

Now it is possible to view gracious avenues of rhododendrons and flower-beds, grown by students and teachers of the school. A museum of the school is open for visitors upon request. 

Black alders’ wet forest belongs to wetland broad-leaved forests with high level of groundwater that seasonally floods roots of the trees. Walking down the 600 m long trail you can see flood-land black alder forests and river Vēršupīte. The swamp forest is suitable place for Latvian woodpecker species.

The forest is especially amazing in spring, when the ground is covered with a carpet of yellow marigold flowers and the air is vibrating with birds’ songs and woodpecker knocking.

The first part of hotel was built in 1896, but the auxiliary – in 1924. Initially, the building was a private boarding house where summer residents lived. 

The central building of the hotel was built in the beginning of the 20th century as a boarding house with rich woodcarving decorations of windows, planks, cornices, silhouette carvings of planks in the panels of verandas. In this are there is another historical building where a boarding house “Imperial” was located during the first independence of Latvia, but after the World War II a board of Soviet Union resorts was located here. After denationalization houses were sold and new owners built then anew as a result of reconstruction. Since the end of reconstruction in 2004 a hotel “Eiropa” is operating in here. 

In the beginning of 20 century there was a summer residence which burnt down. Later on a small shop was constructed there, that in 1930 was re-arranged as a warehouse of beer factory “Iļģuciems”. In 1950 it was a grocery shop, later a pub "Sencis". In 1996 the building was reconstructed for the restaurant. 

In 1870 Mr Horn built the first hotel in Majori, and a concert garden where the famous symphonic orchestras performed. In 1896 the first movie in Jūrmala was shown here. Despite the fact that in 1913 the Horn’s Garden together with all the ambient buildings burnt down in fire, now  Jūrmala cultural centre is located there and the music again  is played in the garden. The Horn’s garden was renovated in 2005.