The chef of AQUA LUNA offers original dishes for European tastes with a daring mix of culinary traditions. International influences can be found in the AQUA LUNA kitchen – French and Italian classics, Baltic traditional cuisine, Canadian lobster and Chilean perch, Indian mango, and originally served seafood. Fresh products, light and balanced food are the main rules for this cosy restaurant. The menu focuses on modern European cuisine with Asian accents. On Thursdays AQUA LUNA has live music evenings, and on Fridays and Saturdays nights great dance parties.
- Category:Pubs and Bars, Restaurants
- Address:Andrejostas iela 4, Rīga, LV-1045
- Phone:+371 67650922
- Languages spoken:
- Payment methods:
- Bank transfer
- Credit/debit card
- Access for disabled people
- WiFi Internet
- Banquet service
- Summer terrace
- Premises for celebrations
- Live music
- Dance floor
- Working hours:
Monday - Sunday 12:00
Surrounded by a beautiful landscape, Malpils Manor is located in a small, pleasant town, Mālpils, about 45 km east of Riga. Today Mālpils Manor is not only an outstanding monument of Classicism and a historical museum but also a four-storey luxury design hotel with 24 rooms, a restaurant and premises for celebrating memorable events.
The baroque park, the surrounding natural landscape and other buildings included in the manor complex offer various recreational opportunities. There are tours on ancient-style bicycles to the local dairy plant to taste the renowned Malpils cheese. You can also enjoy romantic boat trips on the pond, country excursions in horse carts, and other interesting activities.Nowadays the romantic Baroque park of Mālpils Manor has regained its charm – the unusual stillness and tranquility, the purling sound of the pond fountain and the overall atmosphere of antiquity. The manor surroundings accommodate a garden of flowers and aromatic herbs, two fountains, and ponds with blossoming waterlilies. The footpath benches were made from the trees growing in the same park. Baron von Taube’s obelisk has been renovated as well. Various leisure activities are offered: romantic outings in a wooden boat, drinking coffee in a little wooden teashed, walking on the lovers’ bridge.
- Access for disabled people
- Car parking
- Pets allowed
- Place to celebrate
- Workshops and conferences
Currently the manor is a home for Vilce Elementary School. The oak planted in 1937 by the president of state K.Ulmanis is growing by the building. For the first time the name of the school in Vilce Parish was mentioned in 1819 when the feudal lord established a school at Vilce Manor to teach reading, writing, calculating and the religion.
Until 1823 the school was attended by 140 children. The education was free. Children learned from the Book of Wisdom by Old Stenders (Vecā Stendera gudrības grāmata), and the teacher received a salary. The parishes of Vilce, Mūrmuiža and Blankenfelde were established in the period of 1820-1822. In 1823 Vilce School was closed, as the parish was unwilling to care for its maintenance alone.
- Creative workshops
- Guide service available
- Themed events
- Free parking
- Information point
Monday – with applying in advance
Tuesday – Sunday 9:00 - 18:00
It became famous thanks to the professor of astronomy Wilhelm von Struve (1793 — 1864) of Tartu University who performed geodetic and astronomical measurements at the park during summer 1826 for the calculations of meridian arc.
In 2005 the decision on inclusion of a unique object, i.e., Struve Geodetic Arc, into UNESCO World Heritage List was adopted during the 29th Session the World Heritage Committee. The thirty-four points which have been marked in territories of ten countries with special signs made of iron or stone remind of the meridian arc measurement works organised internationally at the beginning of the 19th century. They had a significant effect on the further development of science and assisted in determining the exact dimensions and shape of the Earth.
Struve Geodetic Arc as a cultural object is unique, since it is situated in territories of several countries. Struve Geodetic Arc was measured in the period from 1816 to 1855. It stretches from the Norwegian coast of the Arctic Ocean to the Danube estuary by the Black Sea with total length of 2 822 km. On the land surface the meridian arc is marked with geodetic points in territories of ten countries, i.e., Norway, Sweden, Finland<Russia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Belarus, Ukraine and Moldova.
In Latvia there is a total of 16 points amongst which the astronomical observation station Jēkabpils is the most significant. It was established and measured in May-June 1826. Determination of geographical coordinates was complicated in expedition conditions at the beginning of the 19th century. Inappropriate stationary instruments and balance wheel clocks of observatories were used for the astronomical observations.
During time the astronomical station Jēkabpils remained undestroyed. When establishing the Class I Triangulation Network of Latvia, in 1931 Struve Geodetic Point was once again reinforced and covered with memorial stone presented to his town by Eduards Valters, teacher of natural sciences at Jēkabpils Gymnasium.
The idea of a salon-store emerged in 2008, mainly because artists had no place where to purchase all materials necessary for painting at once and to sell their works for reasonable prices.
The art salon has the ambience of history. The former marketplace, House of Defenders, Uniate Church, houses of Šņornieki, Knaģi, Vildes and Brandenbrūderi can be seen through its windows.The building at Pasta Street 21 was constructed in 1903 and it was the family house of Grobiņš, an officer of the Latvian Army; the first floor accommodated a pharmacy, but the second floor comprised apartments. It was once a home for the prosecutor of Jēkabmiests, Department of Education during the period of USSR, a doctorate during the period of Awakening, and the editorial office for the oldest newspaper “Jēkabpils Vēstnesis”.
The title was chosen after long consideration, but shortly afterwards and during redecoration the owners found a brooch in the room; the brooch can be now seen at a wall together with two other brooches from family heritage.
At the salon–store Sakta artists may acquire the necessary materials and sell their works, but the art admirers have the opportunity of visiting exhibitions and purchasing paintings and art pieces as gifts and souvenirs. Here the visitors may see and purchase also products made by craftsmen from Jēkabpils and Krustpils, Aizkraukle, Bauska, Jelgava, Riga, Staicele and elsewhere.
In the side room creative workshops take place every Saturday for everyone to have the opportunity of expressing themselves in art. The salon–store room displays exhibitions and offer purchasing pieces from them.
To commemorate the ancient historic events the second bishop of the Latvian Orthodox Church had the title Bishop of Jersika. During the period of Russian Empire Jersika was beautifully and proudly referred to as Cargrade (Tsargrad). Cargrade did not have its own Orthodox church.
When entering Jersika from the side of Līvāni you may notice such interesting building as mobile iron Orthodox Church of tsar’s army constructed in 1866. It present location was designated in 1904. The church reminds of a traveller stopped for a brief rest to continue the route later.
The church was constructed in 1866 using sectional structures manufactured in Odessa. The church was transported to its present location and installed in 1904. Previously it was installed in 1886 in Daugavpils.
The church is a home for one monument of art. Today the Revelation of Christ Orthodox Church is located in Jersika.
The church is special due to its possible uniqueness, because the exterior decoration, i.e., walls, window frames, roof rafters, rood, the base of the dome and the dome, has been made of iron or cast iron. The church is referred to in public as the Iron Church (Dzelzs baznīca). Previously the church was situated in Daugavpils at the spot where the Ss. Boris-Gleb Cathedral is standing now.
The factory has the only lead casting tower in Europe that still works.
Through centuries, i.e., during the tsarist Russia, the first Free State of Latvia, the Soviet Union and the independence period of Latvia, the factory has always produced high quality lead shots for hunting and it is still involved in this activity. The factory has equipment and structures built in the 19th century and supplemented before and after both World Wars, and they are well harmonized with the modern equipment of manufacturing the ammunition.
The factory offers seeing the historic exhibition and lead shot casting workshop and climbing its unique 37 m high tower with 19 m deep cooling well under it. You may see the famous Church Hill (Baznīcu kalns)of Daugavpils, the city centre and the distant fortress walls from the factory tower. The ammunition factory is the destination of many local and foreign tourists willing to experience the unique ambience of the 19th century and learn about the operation of the ancient equipment today. After visiting the factory everyone is invited to test the ready production at the factory's shooting-gallery. Visit to the factory may be combined with seeing Daugavpils Fortressand other military objects, thus gaining an extensive insight into many aspects of Latvian military history.
The manor-house constructed in the early 19th century is situated in the centre. The long facades arranged in right angle are successfully supplemented with mezzanines, porches and exterior stairs with graciously constructed rails and vases decorating their bases.
Octagonal tower with a clock, wind cone and coat of arms of counts Sieberg is another element that blends in well. One part of the building has been created in summer cottage style. It is decorated with ornamental wooden structures. The manor-house accommodates several halls and salons arranged in enfilade with ceilings decorated with profiled cornices, rosettes or wood.
Door openings have classicism style pediments. The manor is constructed in a way that corridors are lightened with overhead lighting.
The guest house and the leather works workshop are located nearby the centre of Koknese, on the bank of Pērse River. Koknese is a town of the Hanseatic League and it has been a significant centre of trade, recreation and craft already in olden days. Continuing the ancient traditions we founded a company LLCKāpiņa, which is involved in artistic leather works and production and sale of souvenirs, and recently we have established new recreation and education centre Mazā kāpa.
Mazā kāpa offers excursions with participation at the creative workshop, seminar, exhibition and banquet hall, fireplace room, area for tents and picnics, a stop for wedding guests, comfortable and modern rooms suitable also for persons with special needs. During several years a special range of offers has been created at the creative workshop to entertain clients from Latvia and abroad. The products of the creative workshop have been brought to Estonia, Lithuania, Germany, Russia, Hungary, France, Austria, the United Kingdom, Sweden, Finland, Denmark and the USA.
Offered products: - guest books in leather covers, - photo albums, - document folders, - menus and boxes for cash for restaurants and cafes, - visit card and credit card wallets, - covers for passports and marriage certificates, - notebooks, planners, - purses and briefcases, - belts, - presentation gifts.
All products are handmade!
DaugavpilsMark Rothko Art centre offers:
- Mark Rothko original pieces and reproductions
- digital exposition on the artist’s life and creative works
- video hall and Rothko Silent Room
- cultural and historical expositions
- variable exhibitions of works by Latvian, European and world-known artists
Cafe“Arsenal” is open to provide for great state of mind and delicious meals (locating inside the building, will accommodate up to 60 visitors).
Artists from all around the world will be able to stay at any of 14 residencies, made especially for living and working.
Conference rooms are ready for seminars and discussions.
Guided tour in Rothko sector – 45 min, entire center -90 min.