The pride of hotel Villa Joma is entirely renovated wooden house, which served as a small hotel already in the late 19th century. Hotel with the restaurant is located in the very heart of Jurmala - on the main promenade, only few minutes’ walk from the beach and Dzintari concert hall. Hotel’s façade and its interior represents wooden architecture that is characteristic only of this town. Every guest can enjoy unforgettable atmosphere enclosed by historical buildings and the unique nature of Jurmala.
- Address:Jomas iela 90, Jūrmala, Majori, LV-2015
- Phone:+371 67771999
- Fax:+371 67771990
- Languages spoken:
- Rooms total:16Beds total:45
- Payment methods:
- Credit/debit card
- Access for disabled people
- Car parking
- Place to celebrate
Every year, one day in the month of May, Miera Street is closed to traffic for its special festival featuring live music, performances, games&attractions, an arts&crafts fair, various workshops. On nearby Aristida Briāna Street, at the cafe/night club "Piens" (Latvian: milk), summertime brings its festival (usually on a Sunday) for outdoor concerts, refreshing milkshakes and new friends.
A new and already-popular addition to the quarter – right next to ‘’Piens”, is the ‘’9kl” Arts Centre, just a few doors from the micro-brewery "Labietis", with its very own brands made from unusual ingredients.
Meanwhile, at Miera 22, it’s the Chocolate Museum at the "Laima" Confectionary with its unique interactive exhibit. A bit farther ahead is another venue for artistic endeavors – the territory of the former tobacco factory ("Tabakas fabrika").
Still forward, within walking distance, is "Lielie kapi" - the former mayoral cemetery (late 18th century), now resting place for many celebrities.
- Creative workshops
- Slow food
- Themed events
- WiFi Internet
The University of Latvia offers students to earn bachelor and master’s degrees in humanities, pedagogical sciences, social sciences, natural sciences and health care. The university also offers professional studies for bachelor and master’s degrees, as well as professional qualifications. Those who wish to pursue a doctorate have several doctoral study programmes in natural sciences to choose from.
Foreign students can enroll in several bachelor programmes at the University of Latvia, as well as study for a doctorate or attend further education courses to learn various foreign languages.
The Latvian National Library is located on the left bank of the Daugava. It is home to over one thousand reading desks and rooms for group lectures, exhibitions, public debates, presentations and other such happenings.
The new library is arriving in tandem with the uniform library information system or “Network of Light”, which makes it possible to access Latvian National Library materials from any other library in Latvia.
The Art Academy of Latvia encompasses several departments to study visual arts, visual plastic arts, design, audio-visual art, theory of art. The academy collaborates with a number of art academies in other countries, offering students to participate in exchange programmes and in international developments.
On the deck of "Noass” and "Betanovuss” is where a wide range of art exhibits, modern dance performances and poetry and prose readings take place. For over 10 years, the floating gallery has been associated with the international contemporary and video art festival "Ūdensgabali”, offering the latest video experiments from around the world.
During major festivals and events in Riga, that are well-attended, "Noass” and "Betanovuss” always line up an interesting programme of their own. Two examples here are the international "Night of Museums” and the Riga City Festival.
On the "Betanovuss” premises, the unique permanent collection of the Museum of Naive Art can be found, with works from as far back as the 18th century. Several hundred entities, with special attention given to Latvian artists of today.
The building at the intersection of Brīvības Street and Stabu Street used to go by the name of Stūra māja (corner house) – obviously because of its location, as well as for a long history of putting many people in a very tight corner indeed.
The KGB was a particularly repressive authority that the Bolsheviks established soon after coming to power in Russia in 1917. They set up the Emergency Commission, or Cheka, to seek and eliminate opponents of Bolshevism. Since then, Cheka and KGB were the terms used to denote the entire oppressive Soviet system, regardless of the name changes the authority went through.
The KGB building in Riga has been unable to find new tenants. In order to turn the spotlight on and prompt discussion about the history of the building, the KGB House is open to the general public from April 30 to October 31 this year, offering an extensive educational and cultural programme. The first, fourth, fifth and sixth floors of the building showcase history and art exhibitions about the building, visitors are also offered guided tours of the building's legendary ominous basement.
The Ķīpsala International Exhibition Centre includes two main halls, three spacious conference halls, and two more rooms with seating capacity of up to forty people. There is a guarded car park near the centre.
Various exhibitions are held in Ķīpsala all year round, many of which have become popular events that the public looks forward to attending. These include “School”, Baltic Book Fair, fairs dedicated to cars, photography, agricultural machinery, tourism, textiles and others, accompanied by all kinds of events.
Ķīpsala Exhibition Centre also hosts impressive cultural and recreational events, including dancesport festivals, Christmas concerts, large-scale dancing and sports events for adults and children.
In the guest house for guests free of charge are available:
- kitchen with all the accessories necessary for meal preparation, washing machine;
- landscaped rest area, terrace with tables and barbecue;
- children"s playground;
- tourism information about Ventspils;
- parking lot.
We offer modern halls for your activities:
- and other measures.
Currently the manor is a home for Vilce Elementary School. The oak planted in 1937 by the president of state K.Ulmanis is growing by the building. For the first time the name of the school in Vilce Parish was mentioned in 1819 when the feudal lord established a school at Vilce Manor to teach reading, writing, calculating and the religion.
Until 1823 the school was attended by 140 children. The education was free. Children learned from the Book of Wisdom by Old Stenders (Vecā Stendera gudrības grāmata), and the teacher received a salary. The parishes of Vilce, Mūrmuiža and Blankenfelde were established in the period of 1820-1822. In 1823 Vilce School was closed, as the parish was unwilling to care for its maintenance alone.