A+
Beta

German

Built in 1207 as a castellum type fortress, later rebuilt into a convent type building. From 2012 it is possible to climb up the North Tower, the Main Gate Tower and enjoy the medieval aura. Virtual tour: www.promotour.lv/tour/sigulda-2/

In the ancient Gauja valley, shaped by the River Gauja and its tributaries, dozens of stone castles were erected and occupied in addition to the many castle mounds that were built by earlier locals. This area has the greatest concentration of castles not only in Latvia but also in Eastern Europe.

Geographically, the Gauja valley played an important role during the Crusades due to its existing network of waterways and land roads that were already in place. The valley was also home to a variety of ethnic groups who each controlled their own lands. During the 13th century many new territories were established on the basis of war and battle.

Sigulda Medieval Castle was built by the Livonian Brothers of the Sword who were later incorporated into the Teutonic Order of the castle, thus the castle eventually became the property of the Livonian Order.

The Livonian Brothers of the Sword, officially known as The Militia of Christ of Livonia, was a military order comprised of German "warrior monks.” They later became better known as the Livonian Brothers of the Sword due to the symbols on their white capes: a red sword and cross. The order, founded in 1202, was the first "warrior monk” order formed outside the Mediterranean region. Historical documents indicate Bishop Albert and Cistercian Abbot Teoderih were the co-founders of the order. The military order’s mission was to remain in Livonia to protect the land and conquer new territories.

As part of the land division between themselves and Bishop Albert in 1207, the order gained the territory which stretched along the left side of the Gauja River. In the ongoing competition to determine hegemony between the Bishop and the Livonian Order, castle placement became a strategic factor. According to the Rhymed Chronicles, Sigulda Medieval Castle was erected sometime between 1207 and 1209 under the direction of Master Venno of the Order of the Brethren of the Sword. The Chronicle of Henry of Livonia says that the castle was in use by the Brothers of the Sword as a base while battling revolting Livs that were invading from a nearby castle.

Sigulda Medieval Castle was initially built to monitor and control the water ways of the Gauja River and to fend off any invasion attempts from the nearby bishop’s castle in Turaida which was located on the river’s west coast. In 1224 the Pope’s legate, Wilhelm of Modena, stayed at the castle and established both a church and parish. In 1237 the lands of the Livonian Brothers of the Sword become the property of the German Order who continued to conquer additional territories in Latvia up until 1290. 

At the very beginning of the Livonian war, Sigulda Medieval Castle was damaged and in 1562 it became a part of the PolishStarostwo. At the end of the 16th century, the Poles repaired the castle and its surrounding buildings. During the Polish – Swedish war the castle was seriously damaged. After the war, the Swedes reported that the castle was empty and destroyed.  In the 1622 it was again restored and a new residential building and sauna were built. 

In 1737 Sigulda became a private estate. It was first the property of Count Lasi, followed by Brown and the Borhs. In the 19th century the castle and its layout were remodeled and a gate, inscribed with the year 1867, was added to the front part of the castle. The gate tower surrounding the inner castle building was decorated with the Borh family coat of arms. Additionally, the ruins of the castle were fortified and two pseudo-gothic arches were constructed. Finally, between 1878 and 1881, a new castle was built by Duke Kropotkin’s family.

At the beginning of the 19th century the castle once again got attention but, following the trend of the times, it was simply admired as a romantic ruin. Monument protection concerns caused some construction work to be done in order to renew the gate tower and other important parts of the castle.  Due to its importance as a tourist attraction, the castle walls have been fortified many times in the 20th century.

After WWI with the establishment of Latvia, the ruins have been under the auspices of the Monument Board.

In 2011, the European Union co-sponsored a project designed to assist with the renovations. It was officially titled “Reconstruction of Sigulda Castle Ruins and Infrastructure Adjustment for Tourism Development” and successfully concluded in 2012.

All of this has resulted in the reconstruction of the castle ruins and it’s surroundings which makes it a unique tourist attraction combining a rich cultural history in an ecologically clean environment.

You are welcome to climb up into the Castle’s southern and northern towers which have been opened for the first time since the renovations. Take a walk on the walls of the ruins to enjoy the pristine atmosphere and the beautiful views of Gauja river valley and the nearby historical monuments. The technical part of this project was executed by the office of Inara Caunite. 

Annual concerts and festivals are organized on the open air stage of Sigulda castle-ruins. The season traditionally opens in May with the Cherry Blossom Ball followed by the Jazz Festival, Blues Festival and Theater Day.  The most remarkable event is the Opera Festival, originally initiated 20 years ago by Dainis Kalns and held in Sigulda ever since.

Livonian Order’s castle in Sigulda to its visitors offers explicit and historically active journey within the everyday life of Livonian Order’s Brotherhood. Visitors vill discoverhow the inner structure of the Order was formed and how did it function; how did Order’s brothers and servants dress and arm themselves; what was the everyday life and military campaigns of the Order’s brotherhood like. More information: http://tourism.sigulda.lv/journey-within-the-everyday-life-of-livonian-order-s-brotherhood/

57"9'58 24"51'0
57.166187, 24.850008
  • Languages spoken: 
    • English
    • German
    • Latvian
    • Russian
  • Admission fee: 
    Paid
  • Payment methods: 
    • Bank transfer
    • Cash
    • Credit/debit card
Services: 
  • Creative workshops
  • Guide service available
  • Souvenirs
Amenities and Features: 
  • Access for disabled people
  • Free parking
  • Information point
  • WC
Working Hours: 

01.05.-31.10. every day from 9.00 – 20.00

01.11. – 30.04. every day from 9.00 – 17.00

Last updated: 12.06.2014

„Veldzes Nams” guest house is located within 5-10 minute walk from city’s recreation and entertainment area. Every room is equipped with air-conditioner, TV, WC, shower, dishes, electric kettle, hairdryer. 

In the guest house for guests free of charge are available: 

  • Wi-Fi; 
  • kitchen with all the accessories necessary for meal preparation, washing machine; 
  • landscaped rest area, terrace with tables and barbecue; 
  • children"s playground; 
  • tourism information about Ventspils; 
  • parking lot. 

We offer modern halls for your activities: 

  • celebrations 
  • workshops 
  • presentations 
  • weddings 
  • conferences 
  • and other measures. 
Services: 
  • Access for disabled people
  • Bicycle rental
  • Internet
  • Pets allowed
  • Picnic area
  • Place to celebrate
  • Playgrounds
  • Sauna
  • Workshops and conferences
  • Category: 
    Pubs and Bars, Restaurants

Restaurant AQUA LUNA is on the bank of the river Daugava in the Andrejsala area of central Riga, and is the ideal place to enjoy nature, calmness, great food and good music - just a few steps away from the vibrant city centre.

The chef of AQUA LUNA offers original dishes for European tastes with a daring mix of culinary traditions. International influences can be found in the AQUA LUNA kitchen – French and Italian classics, Baltic traditional cuisine, Canadian lobster and Chilean perch, Indian mango, and originally served seafood. Fresh products, light and balanced food are the main rules for this cosy restaurant. The menu focuses on modern European cuisine with Asian accents. On Thursdays AQUA LUNA has live music evenings, and on Fridays and Saturdays nights great dance parties. 

Services: 
  • Access for disabled people
  • Smoker-friendly
  • WC
  • WiFi Internet
  • Banquet service
  • Catering
  • Summer terrace
  • Premises for celebrations
  • Live music
  • Dance floor
  • Working hours: 
    Monday - Sunday12:00

The manor-house was constructed in the 18th century after the order of Baron von Medem. Also the manor’s dry-house, barn and forge have remained today.

Currently the manor is a home for Vilce Elementary School.  The oak planted in 1937 by the president of state K.Ulmanis is growing by the building. For the first time the name of the school in Vilce Parish was mentioned in 1819 when the feudal lord established a school at Vilce Manor to teach reading, writing, calculating and the religion.

Until 1823 the school was attended by 140 children. The education was free. Children learned from the Book of Wisdom by Old Stenders (Vecā Stendera gudrības grāmata), and the teacher received a salary. The parishes of Vilce, Mūrmuiža and Blankenfelde were established in the period of 1820-1822. In 1823 Vilce School was closed, as the parish was unwilling to care for its maintenance alone.

Leather works, souvenirs, excursion with participation, creative workshop, a stop for wedding guests.

The guest house and the leather works workshop are located nearby the centre of Koknese, on the bank of Pērse River. Koknese is a town of the Hanseatic League and it has been a significant centre of trade, recreation and craft already in olden days. Continuing the ancient traditions we founded a company LLCKāpiņa, which is involved in artistic leather works and production and sale of souvenirs, and recently we have established new recreation and education centre Mazā kāpa.

Mazā kāpa offers excursions with participation at the creative workshop, seminar, exhibition and banquet hall, fireplace room, area for tents and picnics, a stop for wedding guests, comfortable and modern rooms suitable also for persons with special needs. During several years a special range of offers has been created at the creative workshop to entertain clients from Latvia and abroad. The products of the creative workshop have been brought to Estonia, Lithuania, Germany, Russia, Hungary, France, Austria, the United Kingdom, Sweden, Finland, Denmark and the USA.

Offered products: - guest books in leather covers, - photo albums, - document folders, - menus and boxes for cash for restaurants and cafes, - visit card and credit card wallets, - covers for passports and marriage certificates, - notebooks, planners, - purses and briefcases, - belts, - presentation gifts.

All products are handmade!

Offers guided tours of the town (In Latvian, German, English, Russian); bicycle rental; booking accommodation in the town and nearest vicinity; canoe rental; canoeing and paddle-boat rides on Dzirnavu Pond; information for tourists.

Riga Tourism Information Centre is located on Town Hall Square in Old Town Riga and it was established on January 1st, 2002 as an institution of Riga City Council. The multifunctional Riga Tourist Information Centre is aimed at promoting the tourism coordination and development of Riga city and providing wholesome information on tourism opportunities in Riga.

Consultations in English, Russian and Latvian on leisure and tourist opportunities, guided tours, tourist routes, bus routes and public transportation in Riga and to other Latvian destinations. Information on the best hotels and reservation on-line.

Town Hall Square Tourist Information Centre (TIC) offers:

  • LIVE RĪGA souvenirs gaining BalticMiles points (find the offer here);
  • online accommodation booking;
  • postcards, stamps and envelopes (there is a mailbox at the TIC);
  • Riga Card, offering free museum entrance, as well as discounts up to 50% for bus tours and guided tours in Old Riga, as well as at hotels, restaurants, entertainment, car rental and other places;
  • Riga public transport electronic ticket (E-TICKET);
  • tickets to various events (BilesuServiss.lv);
  • LuxExpress and SIMPLE international express coach tickets;
  • various excursion tickets (guided tours, bus tours, etc.);
  • guides, books, maps and public transport scheme;
  • O!Karte mobile phone start package, mobile internet cards and “Traveller’s start package”;
  • mobile phone top-up codes (for operators O!Karte, ZeltaZivtiņa, Amigo, Bite);
  • Rīgas Doms concert tickets;
  • BalticTaxi coupons.

Riga Tourism Information Centre (TIC) is located in the Old Riga near Livu Square. It offers free consultations, informative materials, maps and free WiFi.

Consultants provide information on various tourism offers, excursions, tour guides, tourism routes and excursion bus lines, public transport in Riga and possibilities to go to other cities of Latvia. Consultants will suggest suitable hotels and make reservations on-line.

Romantic wooden building with conference and banquetting halls up to 50 persons, 100 m from the sea.