A+
Beta

German

Opera Hotel & Spa is Art Deco pearl of architecture built in 1886 by the famous Latvian architect J. Baumanis. Since then, building named „Hotel Bellevue" (the hotel with the beautiful view) was taking care of Riga' s guests. Also nowadays Opera Hotel & Spa focuses on the wellbeing of its guests and offers a wide range of services:

  • This Riga hotel has comfortable rooms equipped with up to date technology.
  • A rich breakfast buffet awaits the guests.
  • The Spa wellness area offers a great possibility to relax and to enjoy some of the 55 different treatments.
  • Taste the Opera Hotel & Spa Restaurants exquisite menu.
  • Take the opportunity to organise social events, seminars, workshops and receptions at hotel's rooms Piano and Facile. The hotel staff will gladly assist in all related questions.
56"56'53 24"7'8
56.947956, 24.118834
  • Languages spoken: 
    • English
    • German
    • Latvian
    • Russian
  • Rooms total: 
    112
    Beds total: 
    218
  • Payment methods: 
    • Cash
    • Credit/debit card
Services: 
  • Access for disabled people
  • Bar
  • Car parking
  • Internet
  • Jacuzzi
  • Pets allowed
  • Place to celebrate
  • Sauna
  • SPA
  • Workshops and conferences
Ratings:
Star rating: 
4
Tripadvisor rating: 
4
Member of Latvian Hotels and Restaurants Association: 
Yes
Last updated: 23.07.2013

In the "Jaunkalēji" bakery the dough is kneaded in wooden bowls and mixed with leaven; bread loaves are made by hand, laid out on maple leafs and then put on a peel into a wood-burnt bread oven. For the most part there is brown rye bread and sweet-sour rye bread baked. No white bread though, as it requires yeast, whereas the farmstead bakery only operates with natural leaven.

"Jaunkalēji" bread is hand-made, thus the entire process is important. Large (regular?) bakeries  have to produce large quantities in a limited scope of time, whereas the owners of „Jaunkalēji” believe that bread is alive – sometimes the dough requires up to 24 hours to rise, and only then it is ready for kneading and baking. A no-hurry policy and individual approach are applied.  

Tourist offers:
- 1-hour tour of the „Jaunkalēji” farmstead; a baker’s account of bread-baking; bread degustation.
- 4-hour class of bread-baking: kneading the dough, burning the oven, making loaves, degustation. And of course, the self-made bread loaf is yours to take home! While the bread is baking you can visit  the neighbouring farmstead "Zīles" (specialises in sheep farming) or the birthplace of the acclaimed Latvian colonel O.Kalpaks.
- Bread available for purchase.

Services: 
  • Exhibitions
  • Guide service available
  • Slow food
  • Souvenirs
  • Workshops
Amenities and Features: 
  • Access for disabled people
  • Free parking
  • WC
Working Hours: 

Open for visits on preliminary booking. 

Vējiņi (Urtānu) Cave is 42 m deep and a source of a powerful water spring. The cave is impressive indeed: 2,3 - 6 m wide, 0,9 - 1,7 m high, 160 m2 of ground area, with the total flow of 5 liters/second. Standing right at the Brasla River, it is overflooded every spring. The cave ends with a filled sinkhole, also obstructing an underground spring and thus forming yet another cave – Ezerala Cave.

The Ezerala Cave consists of a unique cave system with an underground spring and two underground lakes. Its total length is 48 m. These lakes are the only underground lakes discovered in the Baltics so far. The biggest lake’s surface area is 30 m2, length 14 m, depth up to 2 m. The area of the smallest lake is 15 m2, length 6 m, depth around 5 m. Above the large underground hollows there is only a 6m thick but unreliable cover of Quarternary sandstone deposits, therefore only guided sightseeing of the underground lakes is allowed.

Valmiera Museum of Regional History and Art is located in the old centre of Valmiera, close to the old castle. The museum ensemble comprises eight houses within the area of the Livonian Order castle ruins, which were built and reconstructed in the 18th- 21th centuries. The houses contain exhibition halls, a depository, a reading room, and the facilities of museum administration. The museum was founded in 1959.

Valmiera Museum of Regional History and Art is one of the most significant depositories of historical valuables in Vidzeme. It contains around 60 000 artifacts, photos and documents of historical, artistic and archaeological value, which have been collected from the entire local district. The largest collections of artworks belong to the artists Teodors Ūders, Jānis Kalmīte, Rūdolfs Voldemārs Vītols and Pēteris Postaža.

In the renovated Exhibition House and the exhibition hall of Rūdolfs Vītols there are over twenty artistic, thematic, historical and other exhibitions opened on a yearly basis.
The museum offers excursions, lectures, various educational programs; wedding programs – to the newly-weds and their guests.

Architecture of St Simon's Church combines the Romanesque and Gothic styles. The church boasts15th-16th century burial plaques of the city's notables, a pipe organ built in 1886 by a well-known European organ builder Friedrich Ladegast, and paintings on the pulpit and the organ loft made back in 1730. The church tower accommodates an exhibition space, and the viewing platform overlooks the panorama of Valmiera.

St Simon's Church of Valmiera was built on a steep bank of the River Gauja in 13th century. There exist rather reliable records to the fact that the construction of St Simon's Church began in 1283. It is believed that the church's name is related to its consecration on the Day of Sts Simon and Jude (in Latvian - Simjūda diena), 28 October. The building was damaged during wars and in fires.  

Originally, St Simon's Church hosted a Catholic congregation. In 1554 in Valmiera, freedom to pursue Lutheran faith in Livonia was proclaimed that restricted clashes between Catholics and the adherents of the new faith.

In 1964 St Simon's congregation was forced to move to the new Baptist house of prayer, as the church came to accommodate a museum. The congregation returned to the building in 1988, but the ownership rights were legally restored only in 1996.

In the second half of the 19th century, the organ built by Friedrich Ladegast, with 33 stops, 3 manuals, 1 pedal, and a Neogothic facade was installed in the church. The instrument is a specimen of a Romantic organ, and ranks among the best in Latvia.

There are no two identical people or lands on this earth. Also, each person has his or her own country or his or her own Sun. How different those are, and how differently people see the Sun – you can find this out in the Museum of the Sun.

The museum collection holds more than 1350 Suns from various countries all over the world, in addition to a separate exposition of Suns created by Latvian artists and craftspeople.
Every Sun has had its own path that has guided it to me and spoke to me. Each Sun has enhanced the inspiration, faith, power, and desire in me. On a fine sunny day I suddenly realised that I cannot keep them only for myself, that that they must be shown to other people, so that the enormous energy of those Suns gives joy and inspiration to people.
Let the sunlight bless our Latvia. Let the warmth of the Sun stream into our hearts and minds, and thrive there forever. Come, see, enjoy and get inspired, and find your own Sun!

The Museum developed over a period of 40 years. Officially it exists as a permanent musuem since 1997, without any support from the government. The Aviation Museum is the only one in the Baltic area, and is one of the largest in all of Europe. The Soviet aviation technology on view in the Museum is the most extensive outside the borders of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

The beginnings of the Museum are to be found in 1965 with the establishment of the F. Canders young pilots club. The burden of organizational difficulties at that time was borne by Viktor Talpas, a young aviation engineer, employee of the civil aviation administration of Latvia.
In due time the need arose at the club not only for standard educational materials as in the past, but also for instruction with aircraft to accomplish various education disciplines. The Ministry of Defence supported the wishes of club management and provided the club with a de-commissioned aircraft, the MIG-21US, which was refurbished by the students themselves. With the strengthening of the club’s relations with the military, the amount of aviation technology available to the club expanded significantly, and relatively rare and unique samples of combat aircraft and helicopters were added to the inventory.
The financial suport to the club ended with the collapse of the USSR. Serious problems developed with regard to storage space for aviation technology. Between 1998 and 1999 the equipment was moved to a new territory and the museum was reestablished.
The developer and permanent Museum Director is Viktors Talpa. After graduating from the Irkutsk aviation school in 1962 he served in the naval aviation of the Black Sea fleet. After that he worked as an on-board engineer for Aeroflot, while at the same time being in charge of the young pilots club.

Utilizing the design of A. Jefimov the first church was built in 1886 on Mescanska Street (now Rainis Street). It was a rather small one-story wooden building without any architecturally noteworthy elements. The construction of a red brick church to replace the old wooden structure was begun in the mid 1930’s, using the neogothic design of engineer J. Cīrulis. The church has a pointed steeple.

The church was consecrated in 1938 and its vaulting began to resound with spiritual music and prayers dedicated to God. In the summer of 1949 Soviet authorities deprived the parishoners of their church, removed its crosses and dismantled its steeple.
For many years a film rental business occupied the former church. Significant internal reconstruction was performed to suit the needs of the business. At the beginning of the 1990’s the parish reacquired its property, which required a major renovation.
First the cross and later the bell were renewed starting in July 1993 at the Rezekne Holy Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church. Today worship services are being held and wonderful classical music performed. On such days the doors of the Lutheran Church are open to all who wish to see the life of the Church filled with music, light and spirituality.

The museum was established in 1987 and has been open for visitors since 1989. The museum home of Professor Aleksands Bieziņš, the founder of children's surgery in Latvia, is a publicly accessible institution of research and education, the purpose of which is to keep alive the memory of Prof. Bieziņš and highlight his contribution to the development of children's surgery in Latvia.

The memorial museum's collection contains items donated by the family members, colleagues, students and patients:  medical instruments, books, manuscripts, photographs, paintings, decorations.  
A. Bieziņš graduated from the Medical Faculty of the University of Latvia with merits. He started working for the Children's Hospital and remained faithful to this institution for the rest of his life. His career as Professor was closely associated with children and young people, and therefore the museum has also been designed as a place for a family.
The spacious area around the house and the spectacular landscapes of Vidzeme invite a hasty traveller to enjoy peace and serenity. The museum expositions reflect the most important events in Prof. Bieziņš's life. The most valuable exhibit is the highest award a surgeon can receive – a Golden Scalpel.


 

The Madona Museum of Local History and Art was founded in 1944. The museum gathers, preserves and exhibits materials about the history, culture and art of the town of Madona. In 1984, the former Birži estate granary built of fieldstone was restored and a spacious extension was built to accommodate art exhibition facilities (Skolas iela 10). Beside exhibitions, the museum displays a permanent exposition on the district's archaeology.

The archaeological finds of Middle and Late Stone Age in Latvia come from the area of Lake Lubāns in the east of the Madona District. The museum shows various themed and art exhibitions on regular basis; the region's ethnographic items are on display in the summer period.
The visitors have an opportunity to use the museum's academic library. The museum offers guided tours in the town and the district. Local artists' paintings, pottery and applied arts items, as well as books, brochures and postcards are available for sale.