A+
Beta

Cash

The manor-house was constructed in the 18th century after the order of Baron von Medem. Also the manor’s dry-house, barn and forge have remained today.

Vilces muiža
  • Vilces muiža
  • Vilces muiža

Currently the manor is a home for Vilce Elementary School.  The oak planted in 1937 by the president of state K.Ulmanis is growing by the building. For the first time the name of the school in Vilce Parish was mentioned in 1819 when the feudal lord established a school at Vilce Manor to teach reading, writing, calculating and the religion.

Until 1823 the school was attended by 140 children. The education was free. Children learned from the Book of Wisdom by Old Stenders (Vecā Stendera gudrības grāmata), and the teacher received a salary. The parishes of Vilce, Mūrmuiža and Blankenfelde were established in the period of 1820-1822. In 1823 Vilce School was closed, as the parish was unwilling to care for its maintenance alone.

56"24'12 23"33'27
56.403263, 23.557434
  • Address: 
    Jelgava district, Vilce parish , Vilce, Vilces muiža, LV-3026
  • Mobile: 
    +371 26496829
  • Languages spoken: 
    • German
    • Latvian
    • Russian
  • Admission fee: 
    Paid
  • Payment methods: 
    • Bank transfer
    • Cash
Services: 
  • Creative workshops
  • Cuisine
  • Guide service available
  • Themed events
Amenities and Features: 
  • Free parking
  • Information point
  • WC
Working Hours: 

Monday – with applying in advance

Tuesday – Sunday 9:00 - 18:00

Last updated: 05.09.2014

In Jēkabpils Town Centre the guests are welcome at the art salon Sakta of LLC Dūjēni. The owners of the salon are Sēlpils citizens Maija Bite and Jānis Bite, who consider this business as a challenge for their family, which has always had a lot of challenges.

The idea of a salon-store emerged in 2008, mainly because artists had no place where to purchase all materials necessary for painting at once and to sell their works for reasonable prices.

The art salon has the ambience of history. The former marketplace, House of Defenders, Uniate Church, houses of Šņornieki, Knaģi, Vildes and Brandenbrūderi can be seen through its windows.The building at Pasta Street 21 was constructed in 1903 and it was the family house of Grobiņš, an officer of the Latvian Army; the first floor accommodated a pharmacy, but the second floor comprised apartments. It was once a home for the prosecutor of Jēkabmiests, Department of Education during the period of USSR, a doctorate during the period of Awakening, and the editorial office for the oldest newspaper “Jēkabpils Vēstnesis”.

The title was chosen after long consideration, but shortly afterwards and during redecoration the owners found a brooch in the room; the brooch can be now seen at a wall together with two other brooches from family heritage.

At the salon–store Sakta artists may acquire the necessary materials and sell their works, but the art admirers have the opportunity of visiting exhibitions and purchasing paintings and art pieces as gifts and souvenirs. Here the visitors may see and purchase also products made by craftsmen from Jēkabpils and Krustpils, Aizkraukle, Bauska, Jelgava, Riga, Staicele and elsewhere.

In the side room creative workshops take place every Saturday for everyone to have the opportunity of expressing themselves in art. The salon–store room displays exhibitions and offer purchasing pieces from them.

Jersika is situated near Daugavpils. Two kilometres down the Daugava River there is a small hill which was once the location of the ancient Gercige Castle, i.e., the capital of the ancient Gercige Grand Duchy. The Grand Duchy was situated in the span from Kukeinose (present Koknese) to Dinaburg (present Daugavpils).

To commemorate the ancient historic events the second bishop of the Latvian Orthodox Church had the title Bishop of Jersika. During the period of Russian Empire Jersika was beautifully and proudly referred to as Cargrade (Tsargrad). Cargrade did not have its own Orthodox church.

When entering Jersika from the side of Līvāni you may notice such interesting building as mobile iron Orthodox Church of tsar’s army constructed in 1866. It present location was designated in 1904. The church reminds of a traveller stopped for a brief rest to continue the route later.
The church was constructed in 1866 using sectional structures manufactured in Odessa. The church was transported to its present location and installed in 1904. Previously it was installed in 1886 in Daugavpils.

The church is a home for one monument of art. Today the Revelation of Christ Orthodox Church is located in Jersika.

The church is special due to its possible uniqueness, because the exterior decoration, i.e., walls, window frames, roof rafters, rood, the base of the dome and the dome, has been made of iron or cast iron. The church is referred to in public as the Iron Church (Dzelzs baznīca). Previously the church was situated in Daugavpils at the spot where the Ss. Boris-Gleb Cathedral is standing now.

Industry of arms and ammunition is always associated with certain secrecy and mystery, and therefore Daugavpils Lead Shot Factory established in 1885 has raised such interest. The factory is the oldest ammunition plant in the Northern Europe, the only factory of such kind in the Baltic States and one of the oldest objects of industrial history in Latvia.

The factory has the only lead casting tower in Europe that still works.

Through centuries, i.e., during the tsarist Russia, the first Free State of Latvia, the Soviet Union and the independence period of Latvia, the factory has always produced high quality lead shots for hunting and it is still involved in this activity. The factory has equipment and structures built in the 19th century and supplemented before and after both World Wars, and they are well harmonized with the modern equipment of manufacturing the ammunition.

The factory offers seeing the historic exhibition and lead shot casting workshop and climbing its unique 37 m high tower with 19 m deep cooling well under it. You may see the famous Church Hill (Baznīcu kalns)of Daugavpils, the city centre and the distant fortress walls from the factory tower.  The ammunition factory is the destination of many local and foreign tourists willing to experience the unique ambience of the 19th century and learn about the operation of the ancient equipment today. After visiting the factory everyone is invited to test the ready production at the factory's shooting-gallery. Visit to the factory may be combined with seeing Daugavpils Fortressand other military objects, thus gaining an extensive insight into many aspects of Latvian military history.

Arendole Manor is situated in a picturesque place on the bank of Dubna River in Rožkalni Parish of Preiļi District. It has been constructed historicism style as a manor for hunting and recreation. Arendole Manor construction complex stands out from Latgale manor architecture with its magnificence and originality and it has been maintained until nowadays.

The manor-house constructed in the early 19th century is situated in the centre. The long facades arranged in right angle are successfully supplemented with mezzanines, porches and exterior stairs with graciously constructed rails and vases decorating their bases.

Octagonal tower with a clock, wind cone and coat of arms of counts Sieberg is another element that blends in well. One part of the building has been created in summer cottage style. It is decorated with ornamental wooden structures. The manor-house accommodates several halls and salons arranged in enfilade with ceilings decorated with profiled cornices, rosettes or wood.

Door openings have classicism style pediments. The manor is constructed in a way that corridors are lightened with overhead lighting.

Leather works, souvenirs, excursion with participation, creative workshop, a stop for wedding guests.

The guest house and the leather works workshop are located nearby the centre of Koknese, on the bank of Pērse River. Koknese is a town of the Hanseatic League and it has been a significant centre of trade, recreation and craft already in olden days. Continuing the ancient traditions we founded a company LLCKāpiņa, which is involved in artistic leather works and production and sale of souvenirs, and recently we have established new recreation and education centre Mazā kāpa.

Mazā kāpa offers excursions with participation at the creative workshop, seminar, exhibition and banquet hall, fireplace room, area for tents and picnics, a stop for wedding guests, comfortable and modern rooms suitable also for persons with special needs. During several years a special range of offers has been created at the creative workshop to entertain clients from Latvia and abroad. The products of the creative workshop have been brought to Estonia, Lithuania, Germany, Russia, Hungary, France, Austria, the United Kingdom, Sweden, Finland, Denmark and the USA.

Offered products: - guest books in leather covers, - photo albums, - document folders, - menus and boxes for cash for restaurants and cafes, - visit card and credit card wallets, - covers for passports and marriage certificates, - notebooks, planners, - purses and briefcases, - belts, - presentation gifts.

All products are handmade!

The Guest house Alexander is located on the shore of Zolvas Lake, in the heart of Latgale. We offer you to enjoy the nature of Latgale and relax at the comfortable Guest house near the lake with your friends and family. Here you can arrange unfottgetable parties, celebrations, sport events or just spend your holidays with the kids exploring historical places around.

The comfortable accommodation for up to 23 persons, equiped kitchen, room with the fireplace for celebrations and parties, billiards room with the fireplace, Novus, Guest room with TV , DVD, Wi-Fi Internet.

Possible attractions here: bathhouse and swimming, boating and exploring the routs through connected lakes, fishing, barbeque place, exploring of nature paths, picking of berries and mushrooms.

Services: 
  • Boat rental
  • Campfire place
  • Internet
  • Pets allowed
  • Picnic area
  • Place to celebrate
  • Sauna
  • Skiing
  • Smoker-friendly
  • Sports ground
  • Swimming
  • Workshops and conferences
Ratings:
Quality grade: 
3
Member of Rural Tourism Association "Lauku ceļotājs": 
Yes
  • Category: 
    Restaurants

European, Italian and Japanese cuisines. Wide summer terrace on Jomas street.

Services: 
  • TV
  • WC
  • WiFi Internet
  • Summer terrace
  • Playground for children
  • Working hours: 
    10:00 - 23:00

Apartments "Ores" have been created in approx. 280 years old Tavern building. Historical breath and taste of old Latvian interior style, combined with environmentally friendly and still modern things around you describe our place the best.

In 85 square meters you’ll find a living room, bedroom, fireplace, kitchen and full bathroom, and also nice yard with fireplace outside. We have everything you need for a pleasure and relaxed time in one of the most beautiful places in Latvian – Tervete. You’ll find Tervete Nature Park in only 600m distance, 300m to the Tervete mounds and to one of the most famous Latvian writers Anna Brigadere museum, 200m to get to the ancient Semigallian museum and newly built timber castle.

We can host of to 6 people. Accommodation is an ideal place for families and small groups of people who want to experience the real and healthy recreation and leisure time or host a romantic event.