- Tours of the bakery for adults and children.
- Bakers’ expeditions with the possibility to bake one’s own loaf of bread or a big pretzel.
- Special programs for newlyweds.
- Parties (for kids, hen parties).
- Recreation in the spirit of Latvian traditions with a folklore group.
- Team building events.
- Delicious meals after recreation.
- "Lāči" delicacies for sale.
- Address:Babīte district, Babīte parish, Lāči
- Phone:+371 67933228
- Mobile:+371 29256676
- Languages spoken:
- Admission fee:Paid
- Payment methods:
- Credit/debit card
- Activities for children
- Guide service available
- Slow food
- Access for disabled people
- Free parking
Daily 8:00 - 22:00
Historical, artistic and other exhibitions are regularly held in the spacious exhibition halls, for example, Tamāra Čudnova’s exhibition of dolls and toys "Playtime". Luxuriously dressed aristocratic salon dolls from the beginning of the century are displayed side by side with dolls of all sizes made from various materials over the course of the century. These are supplemented by miniature pieces of furniture and household items, as well as wooden houses with miniature interiors.
The weavers from the applied arts studio "Bauska" are active at the museum; they provide advice on acquiring and making a folk costume of Zemgale district.
Reserve your afternoon to sink into the world of fantasies. Breathe the fresh air of a pine forest. Look into the dark sky at night to find constellations. Enjoy swimming in Swan Lake.
The Tērvete nature park is a unique natural site – it is home to 72 endangered plants that grow in the wild throughout the park. This area is also a safe haven for many other forms of wildlife such as birds, reptiles and amphibians. There are designated nature protected zones that keep the park's rare species free from intrusion.
TērveteNature Parkis the best and friendliest place for families with children and for those who can look at the world through a child’s eyes, rejoicing at the interplay of nature and fairytales. This place will also make an impression on those who admire the mightiness of the ancient Zemgalians. These evoke associations to modern generations when climbing up to three ancient caste mounds.
Here you can download an informative booklet about the park. The most popular places, which take at least three hours for touring, are the Fairytale Forest, the Playground and the Dwarfs’ Forest. Not only nature enthusiasts can admire the unique pine forest whose majestic trees are almost 300 years old.
Should you happen to be at the museum on the second Saturday in August each year, you will have an opportunity to visit the Craftsmen Fair and take part in the Zemgalian Festival that celebrates the region's heritage.
Tērvete Nature Park is a place where you can find not only wooden sculptures of fairytale characters and those of writer A. Brigadere–Sprīdītis and Lutausis, the Forest King with his court, Annele with her friends, a large family of dwarfs, but also "live" characters from fairy tales.
What to look for in the Tērvete Nature Park:
- Spring: children and young people leaving goodies for their favorite fairy tale characters; a chance to watch migrating birds
- Summer: the boating season launched on Swans Lake; swimming, cycling, nature watching
- Autumn: birds migrating to a warmer climate
- Winter: cross-country skiers cruising along trails
Groups of tourists will be introduced to the kingdom of legends and fairy tales and then also successfully led out of the forest by a guide (by previous appointment). Further information is available on the webpage www.mammadaba.lv.
During the Soviet era, this site was dubbed The Starlet; it was extremely secret and served to intercept radio signals and telephone conversations in NATO countries. Soon after Latvia’s independence was restored, in 1994, the Russian military personnel left this place. However, as they withdrew, they smashed the equipment, poured acid into the electric motors and chopped up the cables. Fortunately, there had been no order to blow up the enormous antenna dishes.
With assistance from the European Union, the army radar has been transformed to serve scientific purposes: now the 32-metre wide antenna, weighing 600 tonnes, is pointed towards the most remote corners of space. It is the largest radio telescope in Northern Europe, which can “see” sound just like a bat, catches radiation unseen by the human eye and turns it into an image. Astronomers observe the Sun this way, as well as the oldest radiation in existence: particles that originated billions of years ago in the wake of the Big Bang, the moment of the birth of the universe.
A second radio telescope has also been renovated in Irbene (16 metres in diameter), which will soon be used to track the first Latvian satellite, currently being built by Latvian students in cooperation with Germans at the University of Bremen. The military past in Irbene has bequeathed it a number of crumbling structures, about which Juris Žagars, doctor of physics and head of the Ventspils International Radio Astronomy Centre, quips: “You could shoot a horror movie called Frankenstein and the KGB here without having to spend a single lat for the sets.”
As the Irbene radar is no longer a secret military object, it is possible to tour it, with guides also available. The tour includes more than a mere walk around the grounds: it is also possible to climb up to the external platforms on the upper floors of the telescopes and relish the beautiful views extending across the Kurzeme forests. Since the spring of 2009, it is also possible to go for a walk in the underground tunnel connecting the larger radio telescope with the technical headquarters.
In the area surrounding Irbene, there are other noteworthy objects. Almost nine kilometres further down the Kurzeme coast, you will find the Oviši lighthouse, built in 1905. It is the oldest surviving navigational structure in Latvia. The same distance away, there is Miķeļbāka, the tallest lighthouse in the Baltics, rising to 62 metres. The scenic Irbe River flows past the Irbene radar, popular with boating enthusiasts who like to retreat from the bustle of civilisation; not far from here, there is also the Slītere national park, Cape Kolka, and the unique Livonian Coast, which is the cultural and historical homeland of the Livonian people.
This is an excellent place for family recreation. In 2005 domestic llamas from South America joined the team of the "Cīruļi" Zoo residents. In their home land, these llamas are used to carrying packs.
These animals may be viewed from the observation tower - café from where there is a good view on the surrounding area.Including the Grobiņas wind generator park.
Kalvene’s Zoo is located 55 km from Liepāja. Riga - Liepāja motorway 186 km.
The game provides an insight into the period of Soviet occupation, including in the tourist circulation the unique fortification buildings of the Czarist times which sometimes go unnoticed.
The task of the game to act in a united way to overcome various obstacles, to find a friend who is unable to move himself, and to take him to the submarine.
Team spirit and the sense of a friend’s support are very important in this game. While being in the border zone of the U.S.S.R. the participants have to move quietly, hide and scout the vicinity. The game is offered to participants over 10. Younger children can try to escape together with their parents. No need to make prior arrangements.
At the end of the 17th century, the Dominican Order established a monastery in Aglona and built the first wooden church. After the church burnt down in 1699, a stone monastery building and the present church were built in its place in 1768 -1780. The interior of the shrine was created in the 18th-19th century, but the pulpit, the organ, and the confessional were built at the end of the 18th century.
The church houses an extensive collection of paintings, sculptures, and artistic treasures, including the famous icon “Our Miraculous Lady of Aglona”, which is uncovered only during religious festivals. The painting is considered to have healing powers. In 1993, Pope John Paul II visited Aglona sanctuary. Extensive renovation works in the church and improvements of the surrounding amenities were carried out prior to this visit.
The park is divided into several areas: the museum territory, landscape environment, wild nature, a classic garden and a modern area. As the aforesaid areas are united in one territory and border each other, one of the most important tasks is to achieve is that they do not compete, but rather supplement each other. The park provides an opportunity to see not only the artificially created objects, but to also see nature itself.
If you are quiet enough and look carefully during a visit to the park, you may see different wild animals. Water flowing in the ravine is like a miniature mountain river full of rapids as it rushes over stones and wind-fallen trees. One of the most interesting attractions is riding a log-boat and bathing in a log-bath. When it gets dark, evening guided walks by torchlight are available. The light forest and its many log lamps is especially ideal for evening events.
There are small log houses in the central part of the park. One of them is a romantic residential house available for stays; a woodworking workshop is set up in another house. The woodworking workshop is like a start for the future plan to build a proper museum with many buildings, as the collected exposition is sufficiently large and cannot yet be exhibited in its entirety.
The foundations of the current building were laid by the Duke of Kurzeme Ernst Johan Biron, who in 1737 ordered the Russian Court architect Rastrelli to design a new residence in the baroque style. Rastrelli also designed the famous Rundāle Palace, the Peterhof Palace and the Winter Palace in Saint Petersburg. In 1919, the Jelgava Palace was burned down by soldiers of the Bermont-Avalov army troops who fought against the independence of the young Latvian Republic.
The palace was restored, but later destroyed again in the flames of World War Two. After the war, the palace was restored and now the Latvia University of Agriculture is located here. Excavations have been done in the palace, during which coins, Dutch pipes, tiles and cast-iron columns have been found. Although the palace was handed over to students, the former owners rest in peace here as well – one of the palace buildings is the Dukes’ sepulchre, where 24 persons from the Ketlers dynasty and six persons from the Biron dynasty are buried.
This is also the burial place of the first Duke of Kurzeme Gothard Ketler – the sarcophagus made in 1587 that houses his remains is the most precious object in the sepulchre. The sepulchre has been restored and is open to visitors.
The Jelgava Palace Park was started in 1817 in the place of the former palace ramparts. The park set up on the palace island has romantic canals, bridges, palace buildings and the Governor’s islet, making it one of the most beautiful parks in Jelgava. Some old trees also grow in the park – horse chestnuts, an oak and a grey aspen.
In addition, there is another unique object to be seen at the palace – a herd of wild horses on the palace’s isle. Jelgava can be conveniently reached from Riga (44 kilometres) by train, bus or car.
Several exhibitions are displayed, for example, sculptures, antique clocks, and chests, as well as special handicrafts, and other premises of the medieval castle. Various paintings are displayed in the premises of the castle, as well as an exhibition which is regularly renewed. Over time, the castle has been rebuilt and expanded, but has retained its ancient aura to the present day. Originally, Ēdole Castle consisted of two parallel residential buildings which were connected by a stone wall. The gate tower was located in the middle of the southeast wall.
In 1905, Ēdole Castle was burnt down. As a result of the renovation works, it lost its Neo-Gothic character. New doors, windows, inner shutters, and other carpentry items had to be ordered anew. These are artistically very valuable with ornate hammered work consistent with the style of the premises. The restoration works also affected the household yard which was fenced in with a stone wall, and a small tower was built, which, quite probably, was named in honour of Russian Czar Alexander III.