You are here
Ēdole Castle is situated in a park on the banks of Ēdole Lake. It is still inhabited. Ēdole Castle was built in the period from 1264 to 1276 and has been rebuilt several times.
Several exhibitions are displayed, for example, sculptures, antique clocks, and chests, as well as special handicrafts, and other premises of the medieval castle. Various paintings are displayed in the premises of the castle, as well as an exhibition which is regularly renewed. Over time, the castle has been rebuilt and expanded, but has retained its ancient aura to the present day. Originally, Ēdole Castle consisted of two parallel residential buildings which were connected by a stone wall.
The gate tower was located in the middle of the southeast wall.
In 1905, Ēdole Castle was burnt down. As a result of the renovation works, it lost its Neo-Gothic character. New doors, windows, inner shutters, and other carpentry items had to be ordered anew. These are artistically very valuable with ornate hammered work consistent with the style of the premises. The restoration works also affected the household yard which was fenced in with a stone wall, and a small tower was built, which, quite probably, was named in honour of Russian Czar Alexander III.