You are here
The first owner of Stāmeriena Palace was Johann Gottlieb von Wolff. The palace was built in the historicist style on the second half of the 19th century. After it was burnt down during the 1905 revolution, the palace was restored with elements of Art Nouveau.
Stāmeriena Palace is located in a very picturesque venue by Stāmeriena and Poga Lakes. The palace is surrounded by a park that spans 25 hectares and follows the English, or, landscape gardening design. The park has been arranged according to the so-called fan-shaped principle. Stāmeriena was visited several times by the Italian writer Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa, author of the novel Il Gattopardo.
In 1919 the palace became home for an evening school, then, after the World War II, it became a technical school of agriculture, but in the later years a Soviet management office was located in the premises of the palace.
Today the palace is managed by Stāmeriena Parish Municipality and it has become a centre of culture for exhibitions, theatre performances and other activities. The palace offers excursions in the palace and lets out premises for weddings, banquets and other events. The park has become a popular place for walks and arrangement of different outdoor festivities and celebrations.