The main building of the Latvian National Museum of Art in Krišjāņa Valdemāra Street is one of the most impressive in the Park and Boulevard Circle area of Riga. It was designed by the museum’s first director, the Baltic German architect and art historian Wilhelm Neumann and built in 1905.
The structure, as well as the parameters of the exhibition rooms, corresponded to the level of requirementsrequired standard for an art museum in the Europe of at the previous turn of the centuriescentury. The majestic façade is designed in the baroque and classicist styles; the sculptural group of the central fronton was created by the sculptor August Volz. The interior of the building – in the lobby and the ornaments of the staircase banister – feature elements of Art Nouveau. The top-floor lobby is adorned by with six decorative semi-circle circular paintings by the great Latvian painter Vilhelms Purvītis and the a master of Estonian classical art Gerhard von Rosen.
The permanent exhibitions of the museum trace the development of professional art in the Baltic region and Latvia from the mid-1700s to the present day, as well as feature featuring a number of significant episodes periods in the Russian art of from the 18th century – to the first half of the 20th century. The Russian art collection of the Latvian National Museum of Art is the richest in the Baltic countries.
The building is a listed architectural landmark of national significance. Until February 11, 2013 the visitors of the Latvian National Art Museum had an opportunity to get acquainted with the permanent exibitions which gave an insight into the development of the professional art in the Baltic states, particularly in Latvia from the beginning of the XVIII century up to the first half of XX century.
On February 12, 2013 the Latvian National Art Museum was closed for public due to the reconstruction works.