You are here
The Old Brick Bridge across the Venta river
The old brick bridge across the Venta river was built in 1874 and is the longest bridge of this kind of road bridge in Europe – 164 m.
These were restored in 1926, but concrete was used instead of bricks. In 1958 the cobbled road was covered with tarmac, but the old-style lamp-posts were restored in 2005. The bridge has been often used in shooting films, for example, the movie Emīla nedarbi (Emil’s Mischief).
The brick bridge across the Venta has been serving the people of Kuldīga since 1874. It was according to 19th century standards. The 164 metre long arched bridge with seven spans of brick arches with boulder abutments was not only the largest and most ornate in the territory of Latvia, but also one of the most modern in Europe.
The bridge was lit by lamps on 6 ornate cast iron lampposts with fish-shaped bases. The width of the bridge was a sure sign of achievements in bridge construction since it was wide enough to allow two carriages going into the opposite directions to pass each other.