A+
Beta

Cēsis New Castle

The Cēsis Manor - House or Cēsis New Castle is a monument of great architectural importance and was built in the middle of the 18th century. After the recent restoration the castle has regained its initial appeal, but the Cēsis Museum of History and Art has a lot new to demonstrate its visitors.

  • Cesis New Castle
  • Cesis New Castle
  • Cesis New Castle

After 1777 the New Castle gained its current appearance, when the manor was bought by Earl Karl Eberhard von Sievers. Significant reconstruction took place between the 1820's and 1830's when the massive medieval tower was elevated by two smaller floors smaller in terms of diameter and the main Baroque style volume was supplemented with balconies and columns in main facades.

Cēsis New Castle with Lademaher tower built in neo-Gothic style is seen as one of the earliest examples of eclecticism in the architecture of the manors in Latvia. The Earl Sievers family lived in New Castle until the World War I. In 1919, the building was transferred to the Latvian army, and until 1940 it served as the headquarters of the 8th Daugavpils infantry regiment of the Latvian army and officers' club. After World War II the building was turned into an apartment building, and Cēsis History and Art Museum was established in the New Castle in 1949.

The carefully performed restoration works in the Cēsis New Castle resulted in the building regaining its architectural appearance from the end of the 18th and the 19th centuries, when the castle served as a house for the owners of the Castle Manor.

The high quality rose motif, an artistically highly valued freehand drawing, was discovered in the Big Salon. Interior exhibitions are arranged in several rooms of the castle allowing imagining the appearance of the castle during the period when the Earls Sieviers lived there and when it was furnished with Biedermeier style furniture and 19th century’s art objects.

The authors of Cēsis Novads historic exhibition have carried out a difficult task trying to integrate the region’s historic stories in the castle’s interior using the objects, old pictures and interactive programmes from the museum stock to tell Cēsis history from ancient times until the formation of the independent state of Latvia. Conference room and an exhibition hall have been set up in the upper floors of the castle.

 
57.313236, 25.271461
  • Admission fee: 
    Paid
  • Payment methods: 
    • Bank transfer
    • Cash
    • Credit/debit card
Services: 
  • Guide service available
Amenities and Features: 
  • Free parking
  • Smoker-friendly
  • WiFi Internet
Last updated: 11.03.2014