House of the Black Heads, a venue for exhibitions, concerts and other events, is a landmark of Riga Old City and the Latvian capital’s most magnificent edifice.
House of the Black Heads was built in 1334 as a venue for meetings and banquets held by Riga’s various public organizations. The building was destroyed by bombs in the Second World War but was fully rebuilt in 1999.
Travel through the centuries at House of the Black Heads
- Admire the opulent facade of the House of the Black Heads featuring various architectural styles and artistic trends of various periods,
- Take a tour of the House of the Black Heads and picture in your imagination the receptions and concerts that were held at the sumptuous Conference Hall during the times of the Black Heads Society.
- Take a look at the works of our artisans, craftsmen, and antique restorers: crystal chandeliers, the painted ceiling of the Conference Hall, the exact replicas of 19th-century chairs and sofas, weaponry and armor sets, portraits of the nobility in gilded frames, stained glass with colorful ornamentation, the Black Heads’ Coat of Arms and girandoles.
- Inspect the museum’s treasures at the Medieval cellar;
- See the items that once belonged to the Brotherhood of Black Heads: snuffboxes, silverware, paintings, and pottery;
- Explore not only the oldest historical exhibits but also those from more recent times;
- Attend festive events which in the interiors of House of the Black Heads will have a special aura and a truly festive atmosphere;
- See the replica of the Statue of Roland, the symbol of the Medieval Hanseatic cities, with the original located in St. Peter’s Church.
Location and sights nearby
Rātslaukums 7, Rīga