St. John’sChurch is one of the oldest medieval architectural monuments in Latvia. Church was built in the beginning of 13th century during the Christianization of Baltic’s for the purposes of the Livonian Holy Order because residence of the order was located in Cēsis; therefore Cēsis became one of the most important German power centers in the Baltic’s from 1237 up to 1561.
Cēsis St. John’s Church is the largest medieval basilica outside Riga. Church is 65 m long and 32 m wide three sphere basilica, in the western part it is being introduced by the massive 65 m high bell-tower with 15 m high Gothic spire. There are 1000 seats provided in the church.
A range of interesting historical and art monuments have remained intact in the church up to the modern days and majority of them have been included in the list of State protected cultural heritage monuments.
Already from the first half of the 19th century church have attracted attention as a historical and architectural monument.
Nowadays world renowned chorus and organ music virtuous perform there. Church has become a home for the International new organ player’s festival. Also painters value the church; different art exhibitions take place there.
The Blue hill that is at a distance of 40 km from the church can be seen from the church tower.
Doorstep of the church is located exactly 100 meters above the sea level.