The Naujene mound, which was inhabited since the 8th century, is considered the founding site of Daugavpils. In 1275, instead of the Naujene mound, the castle of Dinaburg, as a border fortress facing Lithuania, was built by the Livonian Orden Master Ernest von Racenburg. Almost immediately after the castle was built, it was surrounded by Lithuanian troops under the leadership of King Troiden. Nowadays only ruins of the castle remained, but there is a stone model of this castle on the mound, and historical exposition about the castle in Naujene local history museum.

Nearby is located Dinaburg Nature Trail and recreation area “Knights’ glade”.


Naujene parish, Augšdaugava district
Art and culture
Add to trip

Location and sights nearby


Naujene parish, Augšdaugava district
+371 65471321