The Liepāja Museum makes noteworthy effort in preserving and promoting the heritage of national culture. Its operations include the formation, maintenance and research of the museum collections, as well as devising expositions and exhibitions. The museum's holdings currently total more than 100,000 items.
The city museum was opened on 30 November in 1924. In 1935, the museum moved from its original home on Jānis Čakste Square to its current location in a respectable building at Nr. 16 Kūrmājas Prospekts, erected in the years 1900-1901. The house was built by architect Paul Max Bertschi after a sketch of a Berliner architect Ernst von Ine.
The exhibits in the museum's halls tell a story about the past of Liepāja and South Kurzeme: ancient history represented by unique archaeological artefacts; the history of the city in mediaeval times; items reminiscent of the 19th-20th century; South Kurzeme ethnography featured through a man's life course; life and art of wood sculptor Miķelis Pankoks.
The museum has one of the largest exhibition halls in Liepāja and hosts new art exhibitions on a regular basis.