You are here
Turaida Museum Reserve
The broad area of Turaida Museum Reserve is rich with archaeological, architectural, historical and art monuments, which tell us about many historical events over thousands of years, starting from the 11th century.
Turaida Stone Castle, Rose of Turaida Memorial, Church and Church Hill, Folk Song Garden and Folk Song Hill, and ancillary buildings of the manor are all situated in the 43.63-ha area of the Turaida Museum Reserve.
While at the Turaida Museum Reserve:
- visit Turaida Stone Castle, the construction of which started in 1214 for Albert of Riga in the place where the wooden castle of Kaupo the Liv leader of Turaida had stood before it;
- take a stroll through the Folk Song Garden and up the Folk Song Hill, both of which hold the sculptures of Indulis Ranka depicting Latvian folk song elements.
- Visit the Turaida Church (1750) and take a look at the exposition entitled "History of the Church of Turaida and its congregation";
- go see the Rose of Turaida Memorial next to the old linden – a memorial to a girl who sacrificed her life in the name of love and became a legend, a symbol of honour, dignity, and loyalty;
- See the ancillary buildings of the manor, which hold 300 years of the Turaida Manor’s history.
Summer solstice in Turaida
Take part in the celebration of Latvian annual festivities at the Folk Song Hill, especially the summer solstice, which takes place on 21 June each year.